The coronavirus infection rate skyrockets across Los Angeles
The City of West Hollywood will now fine people on city streets without a face mask or covering.
The city will issue an “administrative citation”.
$250 for first-time offenders, plus a fee of $50, for a total of $300.
Similarly, the City of Santa Monica announced fines of $100 for a first violation, $250 for a second and $500 for a third violation. Businesses that do not require customers to wear masks can will be fined up to $1,000.
All residents of California are already under a mandatory mask order since June 15, but the wider order from Governor Gavin Newsom does not include a fine.
More than a dozen lawsuits have been filed challenging the governor’s right to impose such orders, but state law alleges the governor to ask the Department of Public Health to step in during an emergency.
West Hollywood Sheriff’s Department statement:
“Beginning this month, we will start issuing Administrative Citations for people who are not conforming to the Order to wear a face cover/mask in public.
On Wednesday, the governor once again closed down indoor dining in restaurants in Los Angeles County and other hard-hit California areas.