2018 Film Independent Spirit Awards Annc’s Call for Entries Open


Film Independent announced today that the call for entries for the 2018 Film Independent Spirit Awards is now open. The Regular Deadline is Tuesday, September 19, 2017 and the Final Deadline is Tuesday, October 10, 2017. Please visit www.spiritawards.com for submission guidelines and forms. The nominations will be announced on Tuesday, November 21, 2017 in a press conference in Los Angeles. American Airlines, IFC and Jeep brand are returning as Premier Sponsors. The Awards will be held on Saturday, March 3, 2018 and will premiere exclusively on IFC.  


Related: This Oscar-winning film blends archival video with new footage captured primarily with the Canon EOS C300 Digital Cinema Camera.

In addition to celebrating the broad spectrum of independent filmmaking, the Spirit Awards is also the primary fundraiser for Film Independent’s year-round programs which cultivate the careers of emerging filmmakers and promote diversity in the industry. For information on how to become a sponsor of the Spirit Awards, please contact Albina Oks, Director of Corporate Sponsorship, aoks@filmindependent.org or 310 432 1252. To learn more about table sales and attendance, please contact Jennifer Murby, Associate Director of Institutional Giving, jmurby@filmindependent.org or 310 4321253. 


Film Independent Members comprise the exclusive voting body who determines the winners of the Film Independent Spirit Awards. Members are filmmakers, film industry leaders and film lovers. Anyone passionate about film can join at filmindependent.org/join by December 7, 2017 to be eligible to vote for the winners of the 2018 Film Independent Spirit Awards and receive full nominee screening privileges.


Artists who have received industry recognition first at the Spirit Awards include Joel and Ethan Coen, Ava DuVernay, Spike Lee, Lynn Shelton, Oliver Stone, Ashley Judd, Steve McQueen, Robert Rodriguez, David O. Russell, Aaron Eckhart, Neil LaBute, Darren Aronofsky, Spike Jonze, Charlie Kaufman, Hilary Swank, Marc Forster, Todd Field, Christopher Nolan, Zach Braff, Amy Adams, Lena Dunham, Justin Simien and many more.


Sponsored: Find more movie fun  — visit DAILY OVATION ENTERTAINMENT 


The Film Independent Spirit Awards include the following categories: Best Feature, Best First Feature, Best Screenplay, Best First Screenplay, Best Director, John Cassavetes Award (given to the best feature made for a budget under $500,000), Best Male Lead, Best Female Lead, Best Supporting Male, Best Supporting Female, Best Cinematography, Best Editing, Best International Film and Best Documentary. This year we are thrilled to introduce the Bonnie Award, funded by American Airlines. The Bonnie Award will recognize a talented, mid-career female director. Other grants, for emerging filmmakers include the Producers Award funded by Piaget, the Kiehl’s Someone to Watch Award, funded by Kiehl’s Since 1851 and the Truer Than Fiction Award.