Los Angeles Kings Celebrate 50th Anniversary!


The top three forms of entertainment are music, movies, and sports. The National Hockey League was founded nearly one hundred years ago on November 26, 1917 in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. The league consists of thirty teams: twenty-three teams in the United States and seven teams in Canada. An additional US team will be added to the league based in Las Vegas and will begin to play in the 2017-2018 season bringing the total number of teams in the league to thirty-one.



Sponsored: Get your taste of Mexican single origin bars from GODIVA Story here!


Each season, the teams in the league compete for the Stanley Cup. The trophy was named after the Lord Stanley of Preston, Governor General of Canada. It was first presented in 1892 and first awarded in 1893 to the Montreal Hockey Club.

There are actually three Stanley Cups today: the original cup, the presentation cup, and the replica cup which is on display at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. It is a unique trophy compared to those in other major professional sports leagues. Unlike other trophies, a new Stanley Cup is not made each year. The winning team gets to keep it until a new champion is crowned. Furthermore, the trophy has the names of winning players and coaches engraved on it. Each band on the trophy has enough room for thirteen winning teams. Once each band is full, it is removed and preserved in the Hockey Hall of Fame and a new band is added to the bottom to prevent the Stanley Cup from growing.



Sponsored: Find more fun and adventure  — visit DAILY OVATION ENTERTAINMENT


The Los Angeles Kings were founded on February 09, 1966. The Kings really made an impact on the popularity of hockey in Los Angeles after Wayne Gretzky, also referred to as The Great One, was traded to the team in 1988 and helped sustain continued growth for the team’s success which eventually led to them competing in the Stanley Cup Finals in 1993 for the first time. Over the last fifty years, they have played forty-eight seasons and won the Stanley Cup twice, in 2012 and 2014, under head coach Darryl Sutter. With the 2016-2017 season right around the corner, the Kings will celebrate fifty years in the league as the puck hits the ice at Staples Center and they compete for the Stanley Cup yet again.