15th World Soundtrack Awards Announces Discovery of the Year Nominees


world-soundtrack-awards-2015Today the World Soundtrack Academy announced a second wave of award nominees by announcing the Discovery of the Year, Young International Composer and Public Choice Award as part of the 15th World Soundtrack Awards and Concert in Gent, Belgium. Last month the nominees for Best Composer, Score and Song were also revealed.

The awards show and concert will feature a full orchestra performing film scores of the special guests including honoree legendary film composerAlan Silvestri, (Back to the Future, Forrest Gump), WSA Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Patrick Doyle and 2014’s Discovery of the Year Winner Daniel Pemberton.The World Soundtrack Academy aims at supporting film music, sound design, composers, and their worldwide promotion. For a complete list of the 2015 nominees, info & tickets, visit www.worldsoundtrackawards.com. The World Soundtrack Awards evolved as part of The Gent Film Festival and the 42nd edition will take place October 14 thru 25.

Many legendary and accomplished composers received the Discovery of the Year award at the beginning of their careers. Artistic Director Patrick Duynslaegher states, “If you are looking for the next generation of great composers, you just have to look at the past World Soundtrack Discovery Awards winners, including Michael GiacchinoGustavo SantaolallaCraig Armstrong and Abel Korzeniowski.” Since winning last year Daniel Pemberton scored The Man From U.N.C.L.E and the critically acclaimed Steve Jobs.

The Discovery of the Year Award is aimed at encouraging emerging talent, who at the current WSA eligibility had scored no more than six theatrically released films. To qualify as an eligible score, the film’s world premiere screening must be between July 1, 2014 and June 30, 2015.


The nominees for Discovery of 2015 are:

  • Alex Ebert for A Most Violent Year
  • Dominic Lewis for Spooks: The Greater Good
  • Antonio Sanchez for Birdman
  • Ben Salisbury & Geoff Barrow for Ex Machina
  • Zhiyi Wang for But Always & Highway of Love