Coldplay to receive “Hollywood Song Award” at 17th Annual Hollywood Film Awards


Coldplay-Hollywood-AwardsChris Martin, Guy Berryman, Will Champion, and Jonny Buckland of the multiplatinum, multiple Grammy Award-winning recording act Coldplay will be honored with the Hollywood Song Award for the hit song “Atlas” from Lionsgate’s  The Hunger Games: Catching Fire soundtrack. The award will be given at the 17th Annual Hollywood Film Awards Gala Ceremony on Monday evening, October 21st, 2013 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills. Chris Martin of Coldplay is accepting the award on the band’s behalf as well as performing the song.

“Atlas,” the first song the band has ever written and performed for a motion picture, was released in September and reached #1 on iTunes in 43 countries around the world. “Atlas” will be released as part of The Hunger Games: Catching Fire soundtrack from Lionsgate and Republic Records on November 19, 2013, just before the film opens worldwide on November 22, 2013.

The Hollywood Film Awards is thrilled to present the Hollywood Song Award to a band as globally respected and prolific as Coldplay,” said de Abreu. “They continue to build their legacy and, with ‘Atlas’ marking the first time they have recorded for a motion picture, we cannot think of an artist better deserving of this honor.”

The 2013 Hollywood Film Awards has also announced that it will be honoring the prolific and legendary producer Jerry Weintraub with the “Hollywood Legend Award” and Academy Award® nominated actor Harrison Ford (who stars in the upcoming Ender’s Game for Lionsgate’s Summit Entertainment) with this year’s “Hollywood Career Achievement Award.”

In addition, the Hollywood Film Awards will honor Matthew McConaughey with the “Hollywood Actor Award”; Academy Award-winning Sandra Bullock with the “Hollywood Actress Award”; Oscar-nominated Jake Gyllenhaal with the “Hollywood Supporting Actor Award”; Academy Award-winning Julia Roberts with the “Hollywood Supporting Actress Award” and the cast of August: Osage County, Meryl Streep, Julia Roberts, Ewan McGregor, Abigail Breslin, Chris Cooper, Benedict Cumberbatch, Juliette Lewis, Margo Martindale, Dermot Mulroney, Julianne Nicholson, Sam Shepard, and Misty Upham with the “Hollywood Ensemble Award.”

Also singled out for honors will be Jared Leto with the “Hollywood Breakout Performance Award” for Dallas Buyers Club; Lupita Nyong’o with the “New Hollywood Award” for 12 Year A Slave; Lee Daniels with the “Hollywood Director Award”; Steve McQueen with the “Hollywood Breakout Director Award”; Michael De Luca with the “Hollywood Producer Award”; and screenwriters Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke and Richard Linklater with the “Hollywood Screenwriter Award.” Other honorees include director Dan Scalon for Monsters University with the “Hollywood Animation Award,” and the movie Pacific Rim for visual effects.

The Hollywood Film Awards honors cherished stars, filmmakers, musicians, and up-and-coming talent, and traditionally kicks off the film awards season with the biggest stars and top industry executives in attendance.