37th Saturn Awards Expects Oohs, Ooze and Zombies Too


On June 23 2011, Burbank gets scary and a bit fantastic as the 37th Annual Saturn Awards unveil this year’s winners. Among the Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror highlights will be Leonardo DiCaprio-starrer Inception, Robert Downey Jr with Iron Man 2, Natalie Portman with Black Swan, TV’s The Walking Dead, Fringe, Breaking Bad, and appearances by Chloe Grace Moritz (Kick-Ass) Brandon Routh (Superman Returns), Oscar nominee Frank Darabont (The Shawshank Redemption), Dean Devlin (Godzilla)  And of course host Jeffrey Ross.

The Saturn Award is the official honor presented by The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror films.  The Academy has been voting upon these awards for over three decades.  The Academy was founded in 1972 by noted film

historian Dr. Donald A. Reed to honor and recognize genre entertainment.  This year, a special tribute will take place honoring founder Dr. Donald A. Reed.

Leading the charge is Christopher Nolan’s mind-bending sci-fi thriller Inception with 9 nominations.  Overture/Relativity Media’s Let Me In and Disney’s Tron: Legacy downloaded 7 nominations apiece, Clint Eastwood’s thought-provoking Hereafter received 6, while Alice in Wonderland, Black Swan, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1, Never Let Me Go and Shutter Island earned 5 nominations each.

In the television categories, Frank Darabont’s zombie-drama The Walking Dead came to life with 6 nominations.   Breaking Bad, Lost and Fringe tied with 5 nominations.  Leverage , True Blood earned 4 apiece, followed by Dexter and V with 3 and  The Closer, Smallville, and Spartacus: Blood and Sand with 2.

For more information on the Saturn Awards:

Saturn Awards website
Saturn Award on Facebook